Retail Design Legion of Honor

Sponsored by the Retail Design Institute

Honoring outstanding lifetime achievement in retail store design

About the Retail Design Institute Legion of Honor Award

Recognizing that the profession of Retail Design was driven not by business executives but by extremely talented and visionary designers, the Retail Design Institute in 2000 decided to establish the Retail Design Legion of Honor. This Award was designed to recognize and validate that talent. The award was envisioned for the entire design industry, not exclusively for the Retail Design Institute.


The rules are as follows, and Legion of Honor candidates must provide documentation or evidence that they meet the following requirements:

  1. The candidate should have a career spanning at least 25 years in store design.

  2. The candidate should either be active in the store design/interior design profession, or retired from the profession.

  3. The candidate should have a body of work recognized for its design excellence and influence on the store design community. A portfolio of projects can include product design, graphic design, visual merchandising as well as store design.
    a. At least three of this person’s design projects should have received national or international recognition – Retail Design Institute Int’l Store Design Competition Award, A.R.E. Awards, Chain Store Age awards, Contract magazine design awards, and/or others relevant to the store design global industry.
    Examples: Raymond Loewy and Bill Snaith are legend for both product and store design establishing themselves and their firms, ditto Jim Terrell, Ed Hambrecht and Ken Walker. Dudley Pope, Harry Le Grand and Barbara D’Arcy put their respective stores into the record books. Jay Fitzpatrick, Ron Pavlik and Norwood Oliver have collected dozens of awards each. Larry Israel was responsible for the open floorplan concept, while Dick Shipley was the pioneer of the total environmental design we practice today. Alton Doody added marketing research and branding to our discipline.

  4. The candidate’s career should show a progression to becoming an influencer in the design industry and retail design over the span of their career:
    a. Positions either with consultancies or retail stores with design, and design direction/design management responsibilities culminating in a leadership role.
    b. The candidate should have garnered industry attention – publication of their projects, recognition of the individual.
    c. Based on their creativity and design excellence they should have consistently gained attention for their design firm or retail organization.
    d. As leaders in their respective organizations, the candidate should have become expert at managing human and financial resources.

  5. The candidate should have furnished support and contributed time and effort to the design profession and the design industry overall.
    a. Membership in professional organizations {RDI (formerly ISP), AIA, ASID, IIDA) and trade organizations (NADI, NASFM, A.R.E., Shop!, NRF) is highly preferred but not mandatory.
    b. The candidate should have a reputation as a design industry spokesman, garnered through speaking engagements and assisting with and as part of major industry events and organizational activities in their country.
    c. The candidate should have worked as a mentor, guiding students and newcomers to retail design and the design industry overall.

  6. The candidate should stand out as a role model for others in or joining the industry. They must demonstrate the highest standards of personal character, integrity, professionalism, personal ethics, and business ethics.

  7. The candidate’s body of work should be recognized by retailers and the retail design industry for significant influence on retailing.
    a. The work has set standards for quality and creativity within the context of retail.
    b. The work is directional and innovative within the context of retail.
    c. The work has achieved notice and retail success, i.e., met directional or financial expectations.

  8. Either the nominated candidate or their sponsor must furnish a detailed resume of their career and at least photos of their award winning work or preferably a power point presentation for review by the judges and inclusion in the video presentation at the Awards ceremony. This is essential since the judges need to thoroughly evaluate each candidate’s work.

  9. Unless unavailable because of death or medical condition the candidate should be present at the Awards Ceremony concurrent with the Retail Design Institute’s International Store Design Awards Gala in order to receive their award.

  10. As with all top awards within the Institute, the by-laws specifically prohibit reciprocity, and any evidence of such will automatically disqualify the candidate.

  11. A confidential panel of judges from the Retail Design Legion of Honor is appointed annually by the Chairman of the Retail Design Institute to review nominees, and their decisions are final.

  12. This award is not about the Retail Design Institute and should never be used in lieu of existing Institute honors including Member of the Year, Fellow or Lifetime Achievement Awards, which specifically recognize a person’s contribution to the Retail Design Institute.

Retail Design Legionnaires Include:
2001: Ken Walker, FAIA, RDI, WalkerGroup/CNI; Robert Young, RDI, Robert Young Associates; Dominick Segrete, AIA, FRDI, Tucci, Segrete & Rosen;  Jim Terrell, AIA, RDI, Hambrecht Terrell International; Raymond Loewy, Raymond Loewy Snaith; Larry Israel, AIA, FRDI, WalkerGroup/CNI; Ed Hambrecht, AIA, FRDI, Hambrecht Terrell International; Robert Daggett, DIA, FRDI, Daggett Architects; Dudley Pope, Rich’s.
2002: Robert Schafer, RDI, Schafer Associates; Ronald Pavlik, HDA, ASID, RDI, Pavlik Design Team; Naomi Leff, Naomi Leff Associates.
2003: Jay Fitzpatrick, RDI, Fitzpatrick International Group; Michael Boccadero, FRDI, Filenes; John Roberts, FRDI, John Roberts & Associates; Alton Doody, Retail Planning Associates; William Snaith, Raymond Loewy Snaith.
2004: Norwood Oliver, Norwood Oliver Associates; Dick Shipley, RDI, Shipley Associates; Harry LeGrande, RDI, Myer Grace Brothers.
2005: Russell Sway, FRDI, R. Sway Associates; Rodney Fitch, CBE, Fitch Worldwide; Rudy Javosky, RDI, Federated Department Stores.
2006: Clodagh, Clodagh Design International; Joanne Newbold, RDI, Joanne Newbold Associates; RoxAnna Sway, Retail Intel (ddi magazine and Macy’s).
2007: Peter Marino, FAIA, Peter Marino Architecture, PLLC; Charles Sparks, RDI, Charles Sparks + Company (pictured top left); Tom Herndon, RDI, Macy’s.
2008: Ken Nisch, AIA, RDI, JGA Inc.
2010: Elle Chute, RDI, Chute Gerdeman (pictured top right); Dennis Gerdeman, RDI, Chute Gerdeman.
2011: Jeff Henry, CID, Gensler (pictured above left).
2012: Bevan Bloemendaal, Timberland; Marc Gobe, Emotional Branding LLC.

2015: Kevin Roche, LVMH, DFS Group Ltd.